Home|About Us|Resources|Events|Members Only

Return to Resources

Essential Health Benefits under the ACA

Starting this year, the Affordable Care Act (ACA) requires that health plans offered in the individual and small-group markets offer essential health benefits within at least ten categories:

  • ambulatory patient services
  • emergency services
  • hospitalization
  • maternity and newborn care
  • mental health and substance use disorder services, including behavioral health treatment
  • prescription drugs
  • rehabilitative and habilitative services and devices
  • laboratory services
  • preventive and wellness services and chronic disease management
  • pediatric services, including oral and vision care


Visit the sidebar for further resources on the Affordable Care Act (ACA).



Ewoldt, L. L. (2013). Healthcare reform: resolve to increase your knowledge in 2014.American Nurses Today, 9(1), 8-11.